Role of Financial Services Ombudsman Council

The Financial Services Ombudsman Council is established by Section 57 BC of the Central Bank Act, 1942 (as amended). The functions of the Council include prescribing guidelines under which the Financial Services Ombudsman is to operate, determining levies and charges payable for the performance of the Financial Services Ombudsman Bureau, appointing the Financial Services Ombudsman, keeping under review the efficiency and effectiveness of the Bureau. The Council has no role with respect to how the Financial Services Ombudsman deals with a particular complaint submitted to him.

The Members of the Council as of January 2017 are

Maeve Dineen as ChairpersonCorporate Communications Consultant and formerly Irish Independent Business Editor
Valerie BowensDirector of Regulatory and Compliance, Dillion Eustace Solicitors
Don Gallagher CEO, Health Insurance Authority
Dermott Jewell Policy & Council Advisor, Consumers' Association of Ireland
Ken MurnaghanManaging Director, Commercial Mortgages Finance Ireland Ltd
Deborah Reidy Director of Investment Consulting, Aon Hewitt
Elizabeth Walsh Solicitor, Elizabeth Walsh Solicitors


FOI Publication Scheme

Submit an application